Wheeling Park High School's National Honor Society President Kayla Clatterbuck is shown during the candle-lighting ceremony

More than 100 Wheeling Park High School students are new members of one of the nation’s premier academic organizations.

 At total of 88 juniors and 28 seniors were inducted Thursday into the National Honor Society (NHS), which was established in 1921 to recognize outstanding high school students. More than just an honor roll, NHS honors students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service and character.

 The NHS induction ceremony was held in the Wheeling Park High School gymnasium. Teacher Caroline Dillon presented the new members, and Principal Meredith provided the closing remarks. The National Honor Society officers are President Kayla Clatterbuck, Vice President Chloe Holmes, Secretary Charlie Ihlenfeld and Treasurer Mia Zecca.